## University of Illinois

Urbana-Champaign • Chicago • Springfield

University Senates Conference 378 Henry Administration Building, MC-348 506 South Wright Street Urbana, IL 61801

October 21, 2014

Professor Roy Campbell, Chair UIUC Senate Executive Committee Dept. of Computer Science 3122 Siebel Center MC 258

Professor Jorge Villegas, Chair UIS Campus Senate Dept. of Business Administration MS UHB 4054 Professor Catherine Vincent, Chair UIC Senate Executive Committee Dept. of Women, Child, and Family Health Science 854 NURS MC 802

RE: Proposed Policy on Open Access to Research Articles at the University of Illinois (USC OT-304)

Dear Colleagues,

The University Senates Conference approved transmitting the attached proposed policy on open access to research articles to your senate at its meeting on October 8.

Public Act 098-0295 (SB1900), cited as the "Open Access to Research Articles Act," was signed into law by the Governor of the State of Illinois on August 21, 2013. The Act requires that all public universities in Illinois establish a Task Force to design a proposed policy regarding open access for the scholarly articles produced at the University. The Act specifies a number of issues that the Task Force must consider when recommending the policy. The University of Illinois Open Access Task Force was put into place by the Board of Trustees on November 14, 2013 (Attachment 2). The final report must be issued by January 2015.

The Task Force believed that the development of the policy should be faculty-driven. Therefore, in December of 2013, the University Senates Conference, on request by the Task Force, appointed an *ad hoc* Open Access to Research Articles Committee with the charge of "assisting the Task Force that was appointed by the Board of Trustees in designing a proposed policy regarding open access for the scholarly articles produced at the University." The members of this committee were Sandy De Groote, UIC, Associate Professor and Scholarly Communications Librarian; Luisa DiPietro, UIC, Professor of Dentistry and Director of Center for Repair and Regeneration; Danilo Erricolo, UIC, Professor of Engineering; Lynn Fisher, UIS, Associate Professor of Anthropology and Sociology; Eric Johnson, UIUC, Professor of Law; Stephen McMinn, UIS, Collections & Scholarly Communications; Sarah Shreeves, UIUC, Coordinator, Illinois Digital Environment for Access to Learning and Scholarship and Associate Professor of Library Administration; Joyce Tolliver, UIUC, Associate Professor of Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese; and Jorge Villegas, UIS, Associate Professor of Business Administration.

The USC OA Committee appointed a subcommittee (De Groote, McMinn, Shreeves, and Villegas) to draft the policy. After lengthy iterations between the USC Committee, the subcommittee, the Task Force, and University Legal Counsel, a proposed policy was presented at the last meeting of the Task Force in September. This proposed policy was approved by the Task Force as a recommendation to be included in the report to the Legislature. This report will be presented at the Board of Trustees November meeting.

It is important to note that the Proposed Policy on Open Access to Research Articles at the University of Illinois is included in the report to meet the requirements of the Open Access to Research Articles Act, which stipulates that the report must be communicated to the Legislature by January 1, 2015. The process to create a University-wide policy will continue under our shared governance procedures that require the coordination and communication between the three campuses and USC.

Also enclosed (Attachment 3) is a background document prepared by the USC OA Committee, *OA Policy Development across the University of Illinois Campuses*, that explains the reasons for developing a University-wide open access policy. I ask that your senate consider the enclosed proposed policy in the manner you deem appropriate.

Sincerely,

Donald A. Chambers, Chair University Senates Conference

Sould O. Cleak

## Enclosures

cc: President Robert Easter
Vice President Christophe Pierre
Dr. Susan Kies
Dr. John Wilkin
Elizabeth Dooley, UIC Senate
Brian Moore, UIS Senate
Jenny Roether, UIUC Senate
Members, University Senates Conference