MINUTES¹ UNIVERSITY SENATES CONFERENCE 2021-2022 ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

DATE: Thursday, June 24, 2021

PLACE: Videoconference

PRESENT: Burbules, Campbell, Dallesasse, Danziger, De Groote, Erricolo, Fisher, Jenkins, Kalita,

Kar (Vice Chair), Maher, Peiravian, Razfar, Stroscio, Tolliver, Varden, Weuve, Wink

ABSENT: Benson, Strahle

GUESTS: Brennan, Dutta, Wade (Chair)

Professor Wade, Chair of the 2020-2021 University Senates Conference, called the 2021-2022 Organizational Meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.

I. Election of 2021-2022 Chair

Professor Wade opened the floor for nominations. Hearing none, Professor Maher moved unanimous consent. Professor Jenkins seconded the motion. Professor Kar was elected Chair by voice vote.

II. Election of 2021-2022 Vice Chair

Professor Wade opened the floor for nominations. Hearing none, Professor Kar moved unanimous consent. Professor Burbules seconded the motion. Professor De Groote was elected Vice Chair.

III. Election of 2021-2022 Executive Committee (remaining members)

Professor Wade opened the floor for nominations for the remaining Executive Committee members. Hearing none, USC members voted for the candidates by Zoom Poll. Professors Maher, Strahle, Stroscio, and Weuve were elected.

IV. Appointment of Membership to USC Committees

Professor Kar moved to approve the committee slate. Professor Burbules seconded the motion. The committee membership was approved as presented.

V. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2:05 p.m.

Professor Wade announced that there were plaques of recognition for Professors Mitra Dutta, Cecil Hunt, James Brennan, Christopher Span, Mark Steinberg, and Min Zhan. She thanked them for their service.

Nominating Committee:

Sandra De Groote, Chair; Ann Strahle, Helga Varden

¹ Subject to approval at the University Senates Conference meeting of August 31, 2021