MINUTES¹ UNIVERSITY SENATES CONFERENCE 2017-18 ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

DATE:	Wednesday, June 28, 2017
PLACE:	I Hotel and Conference Center, Urbana-Champaign
PRESENT:	Brennan, Burbules, DeBerry-Spence*, De Groote, Erricolo*, Francis, Johnson*, Kalita, Karri, LaDu, Li, Miller*, Novak (Chair), Rao*, Razfar*, Tolliver, Vincent, Weech, Wheeler
ABSENT:	Maher
GUESTS:	Kim Graber, Kouros Mohammadian, Jorge Villegas
*Attended by phone	

Professor Novak, Chair of the 2016-2017 University Senates Conference, called the 2017-2018 Organizational Meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

I. Election of 2017-18 Chair and Vice Chair

Professor Novak opened the floor for nominations. Professor Rao nominated Professor Francis for the position of vice chair. Professor Francis declined due to her position as Urbana SEC Chair this coming year. There were questions about the reasoning for having a UIS nominee for the position of vice chair, since the tradition of rotation would put a UIUC person in the chair position the following year. The group discussed the advantages of having the vice chair move to the chair position. However, it was noted that this is not always how the rotation works, and no rules are being broken. In addition, there is no reason why the chair for 2018-2019 cannot be from Urbana. Professor Novak called for additional nominations for chair and vice chair. Professor Burbules moved to close nominations. The motion was seconded by Professor Wheeler. Ballots were distributed and counted. Those participating by phone submitted votes by email or phone text. Professor Rao was elected chair and Professor Novak was elected vice chair.

II. Election of 2017-18 Executive Committee (remaining members)

Professor Novak opened the floor for nominations for the remaining Executive Committee members. Professor Vincent asked that her name be withdrawn. Professor LaDu nominated Professor Tolliver, who accepted the nomination. Professor Kalita moved to close nominations. The motion was seconded by Professor Li. Ballots were distributed and counted. Those participating by phone submitted votes by email or phone text. Professors De Groote, Johnson, Li, and Tolliver were elected.

III. Appointment of Membership to USC Committees

The slate was discussed. Professor Novak opened the floor for nominations. Hearing none, Professor Burbules moved to close nominations. The motion was seconded by Professor LaDu. The Committee membership was approved as presented. [During the following business meeting when USC Committees were reporting, Professor Wheeler agreed to move to the Hospital and Health Affairs Committee at the request of the Conference.]

IV. Presentation of Plaques

Professor Novak presented plaques of appreciation to Professor Graber and Professor Villegas before they had to leave the meeting. The Conference responded with a round of applause for their service. [A plaque was later given to Professor Mohammadian during the business meeting.]

V. Adjournment

Professor LaDu moved to adjourn. Professor Wheeler seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 1:50 p.m.

Nominating Committee:

Danilo Erricolo Gay Miller (Chair) Jorge Villegas

¹ Subject to approval at the University Senates Conference meeting of August 25, 2017